Seconditis

Evening all,

2 bets for us today and yep you guessed it from the title, both finished 2nd.

No complaints really as I had said in the email that the 2 winners were the dangers, still annoying though.

First up we had MR PETE (2pts win @ 3/1) who had everything in his favour today. He was running over his best trip and would handle the ground. I mentioned in the email that Double Eagle was respected because he absolutely loves the mud and he was more than capable of winning this sort of event, However I felt our selection was a tad overpriced at 3/1 and had to back him.

He showed up well for a long way and when the leader and eventual winner started to turn the screw, we couldn’t find the neccessary to make a challenge. He plugged on for 2nd and I was happy enough with the bet.

We then had CROWN COUNSEL (2pts win @ 15/8 B.O.G returned 5/2) who I had been told by one of my good contacts in the yard that they thought he would win today. I’ve said it before that I do not like betting in maidens and especially unraced horses, as some of my longer members will know though, my Johnston information is pretty much bang on.

He was well backed early and drifted out half an hour before the race to compensate for the flood of money that came for Tax Break, I also said in the email that we wouldn’t want to see much money for Tax Break because his 4th first time out when trained by M.Johnston was decent form, so money for him would probably be significant? And so it proved.

Crown Counsel ran really well and turning in I thought we were on a certain winner as he cruised just in behind the front runners, he made his move on the inside and set down for battle. Tax Break had other ideas though and called on his experience to slug it out and win well by around 2L. The experience probably made the difference and I would fancy our selection going in next time. He wouldn’t be a price though?

Not too much damage done on the day with 4pts lost and I was happy with both bets and how they performed, we just found a couple too good and that’s part and parcel of racing.

Just a quick note to members, I am starting to look at Cheltenham as it gets ever closer and I have a couple of ante post investments that we want to be backing, so be prepared for action over the course of the next week!!! I may do a post looking at one of the races as there is a lot to get through, would be interested to hear some other opinions…

www.gifthorseinvestments.com

4 comments on “Seconditis

Leave a Reply

